> Events

Archived : 2024 | 2023 | 2022 | 2021 | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 |

On Tuesday, June 4th, „In Memoriam Peter Eötvös” concert, LIVE from the Musikverein in Vienna

Wednesday, 5 June 2024 , ora 11.35

Great artists often extend their interests beyond their main field - the paths of art don't always lead to the same place, but rather split and intersect at almost every step. Just as Richard Wagner read medieval literature and Béla Bartók was drawn to the Far East, Peter Eötvös was inspired by themodern abstract art.

On Tuesday, June 4th, a In Memoriam Peter Eötvös concert takes place at the Musikverein in Vienna. Conducted by Maxime Pascal, the members of the Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra pay tribute to the Hungarian composer, who passed away this year, in March. During his lifetime, he wasone of the most appreciated artists in the contemporary music, and wasnot only a composer, but also a performer - especially a conductor. We will listen to two captivating pieces from his works, worthy of the public's attention: the Harp Concerto, with Xavier de Maistre as soloist, and Reading Malevich. The former is ascore that fits inthis genre, in which the French harpist will surely shine.

The second piece by Peter Eötvös that we listen to on Tuesday, June 4th, live from Vienna, is Reading Malevich, a work inspired by a painting by Kazimir Malevich - Suprematism No. 56, in which we recognize the style invented by the Russian painter born in Kiev. The bold colors, basic shapes, and diverse but dullpalette resemble the various and rich sounds of the late Hungarian composer's work.

However, the evening begins with Siegfried Idyll by Richard Wagner, a piece he dedicated to his wife as a birthday gift. The title refers to the name of their newborn child - the piece was performed on Christmas morning in 1870, on the steps of the villa where the Wagner family lived at the time. The composer later used themes from this short work in his Siegfried opera, the third part of his tetralogy. Although a typical performance lasts nearly twenty minutes, when it comes to Wagner's oeuvre, we may consider ita short work, as he didn't value brevity.

The concert will end with Béla Bartók's "Suite from The Miraculous Mandarin." The piece, composed between 1818 and 1824, premiered in 1826, causing a scandal and then being banned. Even today, some performances receive criticism from conservative voices. However, we will listen to the unique music of this important 20thcentury composer.

Romantic, modern, and contemporary music, therefore, on Radio România Muzical, in a program that will certainly highlight both the works and the excellent instrumentalists, in a concert that will certainly not disappoint.

Petre Fugaciu
Translated by Tania-Ana Lupu,
University of Bucharest, Faculty of Foreign Languages and Literatures, MTTLC, year I
Corrected by Silvia Petrescu