> [Archived] Events

Archived : 2024 | 2023 | 2022 | 2021 | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 |

Conductor Gian Luigi Zampieri and clarinetist Emil Vișenescu, during the "George Enescu" Philharmonic season

Monday, 7 February 2022 , ora 12.45

On Thursday, February 10th, and on Friday, February 11th, 2022, Symphony Orchestra "George Enescu" Philharmonic, conducted by the Italian conductor Gian Luigi Zampieri, will present a program including two reference works: Concerto in A major for clarinet and orchestra, KV622 by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, with clarinet player Emil Vișinescu as soloist, and Symphony no. 1, in C minor, op. 11 by Felix Mendelssohn. The concerts will take place starting 19:00 hours, in the Great Hall of the Romanian Athenaeum, under the conditions of pandemic restrictions.

Concerto in A major for clarinet and orchestra, KV622 by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791) was written for clarinet player Anton Stadler, the famous virtuoso of the time, and was completed two months before the composer's death. The concerto premiered in Prague, on October 16, 1791. Mozart was drawn to "the distinct clarity of the clarinet, its expressive abilities and virtuoso brilliance, the possibilities of nuance which were superior to most other wind instruments. (…) A bright tone par excellence, it is one of the always sung works, with a wide audience ", musicologist Vladimir Popescu-Deveselu underlines.

Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847) completed Symphony no. 1, in C minor, op. 11 on March 31st, 1824, at the age of only 15, to celebrate, in a private setting, his sister, Fanny Mendelssohn, who turned 19. The public premiere took place on February 1, 1827, the symphony being performed by the Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra. Two years later, Mendelssohn dedicated this symphony to the London Philharmonic Society, which held its British premiere on May 25th, 1829, conducted by the composer himself.

Thursday and Friday, February 10 and February 11, 2022
"George Enescu" Philharmonic Orchestra
19:00 hours, The Great Hall of the Romanian Athenaeum




Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Concerto in A major for clarinet and orchestra, KV622

Felix Mendelssohn
Symphony no. 1, in C minor, op. 11

Tickets can be purchased:
- From the Ticket Office of the Romanian Athenaeum
- Online, on www.fge.org.ro - "Calendar" section. Once purchased, tickets are only refundable under the conditions provided by law.

Access to the hall of the Romanian Athenaeum is allowed according to the rules in force, "if all participants are vaccinated against SARS-CoV-2-virus, for which 10 days have passed since the completion of vaccination schedule, or for persons between the 15th and the 180th day after confirmation of SARS-CoV-2 infection, provided the wearing of protective mask". The verification of these conditions will be done before the access inside the Romanian Athenaeum.

Translated by Anca Ilie,
University of Bucharest, Faculty of Foreign Languages and Literatures, MTTLC, year II
Corrected by Silvia Petrescu