> [Archived] Events

Archived : 2024 | 2023 | 2022 | 2021 | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 |

Brahms and Tchaikovsky live from LAC Lugano

Thursday, 16 March 2023 , ora 9.59

The Op. 77 concert in D major for violin and orchestra by Johannes Brahms and Symphony No. 3 in D major, Op. 29 by Ilyich Tchaikovsky are the two masterpieces that you will be able to listen to live, on Thursday, March 16, 2023, during The European scene.

Naturally, the star of the evening is going to be none other than the violinist Julia Fischer - a well-known musician for the Bucharest audience, due to her repeated appearences at the International Festival "George Enescu". She is one of the most influential violinists in the world, a versatile musician, also known for her extraordinary skills as a pianist, chamber musician and violin teacher. The first prize at the International Competition "Yehudi Menuhin"of 1995 was one of the key points inher beginnings as an artist, and ever since then she has frequently sung together with top orchestras from the world, working with renowned conductors, such as Herbert Blomstedt, Vladimir Jurowski, Riccardo Muti, Esa-Pekka Salonen, Yuri Temirkanovand Franz Welser-Möst.

On March 16, at LAC Lugano, Julia Fischer is the invitee of the Swiss Italian Orchestra, led by its main conductor, Markus Poschner. LAC Lugano, a modern cultural centre devoted to music, visual arts and performances, opened in 2015, is home to the Swiss Italian Orchestra. The ensemble enjoys success under the guidance of Markus Poschner, its main conductor since 2015. Warmly welcomed by the public within the most significant concert halls in Europe, the Swiss Italian Orchestra has a special relationship with Martha Argerich, who chose Lugano as headquarters for the project that bears its name. Moreover, the cellist Sol Gabettachose the orchestra and the Lugano headquarters for a partnership concerning an annual festival during Whitsun.

On March 16th, the Swiss Italian Orchestra, led by Markus Poschner will perform Symphony No. 3, Op. 29 in D major by Ilyich Tchaikovsky.

Radio România Muzical takes over this concert on Thursday, March 16th, 2023, which will be broadcast at 9:30 pm, as part of the program called The European scene.

Jeanine Costache
Translated by Adelina-Maria Mănăilescu,
University of Bucharest, Faculty of Foreign Languages and Literatures, MTTLC, year I
Corrected by Silvia Petrescu