> [Archived] Events

Archived : 2024 | 2023 | 2022 | 2021 | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 |

Live: Pinchas Zukerman – soloist in Beethoven's Concerto in D major in Saarbrucken

Thursday, 20 April 2023 , ora 14.47

For several weeks there are no more tickets for the concert series supported by the Deutsche Radio Philharmonie these days, featuring Pinchas Zukerman as soloist! In Kaiserslautern and Saarbrucken, the famous musician first proposed to the public Max Bruch's Concerto No. 1 in G minor (in special programs, at lunchtime, including the symphonic poem Finlandia by Jean Sibelius) for the Friday and Saturday evenings respectively let the honor of Beethoven's monumental D major return!

So the violinist Pinchas Zukerman is in the foreground of these posters, the orchestra being led by Pietari Inkinen, the young Finn who also holds the position of chief conductor of the ensemble. At almost 75 (which he will turn in July), Pinchas Zukerman has a brilliant career that sums up more than half a century on the great podiums, bringing together different postures: as a violin and viola soloist, as a conductor and chamber music partner, mentor of new generations. Equally convincing in any of the repertoire tackled, Pinchas Zukerman seems to be made for the stage; he has that interpretative presence that is reflected in the truthfulness of his versions, he has that assurance of a high-caliber artist that highlights not only the musical lines and volumes imagined by the composer, but also the balance of the sound architecture he builds.

The youthfulness that Pietari Inkinen gives off at the conductor's desk can fool the viewers; with violin and piano studies starting at the age of 4, the Finnish performer is approaching 4 decades of musical activity (he will be 43 at the end of next week!). Since 2017, he has been at the helm of this German collective, and his career is on the rise, as suggested by his appearances at the Wagner Festival in Bayreuth, conducting the Walkiria in 2021 and being scheduled to conduct the Tetralogy in 2022 (for reasons of health, however, had to abandon this project last year, when the organizers announced its inclusion in the next edition's calendar).

The evening, which is also covered live by Radio România Muzical from Saarbrucken, opens with an emblematic foray into the creation of Jean Sibelius: the symphonic poem Finlandia - the nostalgically romantic page of the Nordic composer-violinist! And in the second part (after Beethoven's Concerto in D major for violin and orchestra) another dimension of European Romanticism will be heard, illustrated by the Czech National School this time: the 8th Symphony, the one in G major op. 88 by Antonin Dvorak.

The European Stage from April 21st, from 9pm, a genuine artistic event is announced, through this live transmission that Radio România Muzical offers you!

Anca Ioana Andriescu
Translated by Cosmin Ionuț Petriea,
University of Bucharest, Faculty of Foreign Languages and Literatures, MTTLC, year I
Corrected by Silvia Petrescu