> [Archived] Events

Archived : 2024 | 2023 | 2022 | 2021 | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 |

Augustin Hadelich and the NDR "Elbphilharmonie" Orchestra under Alan Gilbert’s baton, live from Hamburg

Monday, 22 May 2023 , ora 11.13

Avangardism, clasicism and dodecaphonism: Ligeti, Beethoven and Schoenberg, three important names of the european musical history, brought together on the poster of the concert which takes place on Friday, 19th of May, at Elbphilharmonie in Hamburg, a concert which you can listen to live, at Radio România Muzical, starting with 21:00.

The members of the NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchestra from Hamburg will offer, firstly, the work "Appearances" by György Ligeti, the compositor from whose death will mark a century at the end of this month. Augustin Hadelich will then be the singer of this ensemble, throughour a well-known beethovenian part: Concerto in D major op. 61 for violin and orchestra. The symphonical poem Pelleas and Melisande by Arnold Schönberg is the work which will end the programme of the concert, carried out by Alan Gilbert, the principal bandmaster of the German orchestra.

"Apparitions" is the work that brought György Ligeti fame, how the bandmaster himself declared. The premiere of this opus took place in 1960, being somehow controversial; it was followed one year later, in 1961, by the premiere of the work "Atmospheres", these two pages being considered by the author the motive for which he received orders. According to some musicologists, the major tendencies which we find in Ligeti's creaion are present in "Apparitions".

The concerto in D major op. 61 for violin and orchestra by Ludwig van Beethoven is actually considered a masterpiece of the genre, although it was initially rejected by the public. At the time it was written, the concerter works were intended to prove the instrumentistalist's virtuosity, but Beethoven prefered to offer a meditative part and, in the third part, at least jovial.

The symphonical poem Pelleas and Melisande op. 5 by Arnold Schönberg was written in 1902 and orchestred an year later, remaining in the same estetical area like the precedent opus, Transfigurate Night, at least in the sense of the dramatic whirl which the compositor creates here, like in the more famous opus 4. Inspired by Maurice Maeterlinck's theatre play, Schönberg was cheered for bringing back the counterpoint - even though the orchestration is an equally successful aspect.

Sub egida emisiunii Scena europeană veți putea asculta, deci, concertul susținut de Orchestra NDR "Elbphilharmonie" din Hamburg, dirijată de Alan Gilbert, dirijorul principal al ansamblului german, solist fiind Augustin Hadelich; concertul va fi transmis în direct vineri, 19 mai, începând cu ora 21.00, pe frecvențele Radio România Muzical și pe romania-muzical.ro.

Under the patronage of the European stage programme you will be able to listen to the concert played by the NDR "Elbphilharmonie" Orchestra from Hamburg, conducted by Alan Gilbert, the main conductor of the german ensemble, with Augustin Hadelich as a soloist; the concert will be transmitted live on Friday, 19th of May, starting with 21:00, on the frequences Radio România Muzical and on romania-muzical.ro

Petre Fugaciu
Translated by Bogdan-Nicolae Tănăsescu,
University of Bucharest, Faculty of Foreign Languages and Literatures, MTTLC, year I
Corrected by Silvia Petrescu